moBlog goes open source!!!

I haven’t actively developed moBlog for sometime now. I think it has been about two years since I did anything on it.

But according to my box.net statistics, it is still being downloaded. At least once a day. And occasionally I get requests for features and asking me if I am planning on a new release.

I have been toying with the idea of open sourcing it for sometime now. I am not sure why I didn’t consider it from the beginning. I think it could have gained a lot of momentum had I done it before.

But as the saying goes, better late than never, today I am making moBlog open source. I am uploading the source to codeplex as I write this.

The codeplex url for moblog is: http://moblog.codeplex.com/

If anyone needs any help in setting it up just shoot me a line and I will walk you though it. I will add the instructions needed to get it working on to the codeplex site eventually, as soon as I get some time to write it.  I would also do a roadmap if there is still interest for new features.

If someone wants to join the team and develop the app I welcome you! It would also inspire me to contribute more.

The reason for moBlog becoming inactive was due to my shift from a WM device to an iPhone. That left me without a real device to test the application. When I did the shift I searched for a similar app for iPhone but found none that supported all the platforms that moBlog supported. There is an official WP app for WP blogs, but I couldn’t find a good free app that supported blogger and live spaces on iPhone. If anyone can direct me to one I would appreciate it.

Also, if there is a free version of an app that converts the .NETCF app to iPhone compliant code, I think moBlog will be quite popular among iPhone users as well. I was thinking about porting moBlog to iPhone but I don’t have a MAC to do the coding. So that idea never saw the light of the day.

 


  1. Really nice work brother.. im looking this software as Blogjet on PC . Hope next version will be better. And after this, ASAP i’ll review on my blog at http://goomobi.com,.
    Thanks

  2. day

    sir, i’m using moBlog 2.2. It can retrieve both of my blog at wordpress n blogger. There was an error message appear when new post in blogspot where in wordpress it’s working like a charm🙂
    Dunno what this issue caused by, i love using this application n hope you fix it, if you have time🙂
    Thankyou sir and sorry for my bad english.




Leave a Reply

