Installing Blackberry desktop software on Vista

Since I got my hands on a Blackberry Curve yesterday, I was looking for ways to setting it up. The initial tasks included, getting my phone book into it. ALl my attempts to transfer my contacts from my Fujitsu Siemens Pocket Loox 830 through Bluetooth failed as the two devices could not identify each others services. The pairing worked fine but no transfers were done.

Then the next option was to use the software that came with my Blackberry, the Desktop Software. The CD had version 4.2.2 in it and all my attempts to install it, even after disabling UAC failed with a “Failed to Run VBScript custom actions” error message (or something like that).

Then browsing through I figured out that the error could be with the vbScript on my Vista machine and had not so much to do with the Blackberry software. So the suggested solutions were to register vbscript DLL. To do that:

  1. Locate VBScript.dll file on your machine. Mine was in Windows/System32 folder
  2. To to All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt, right click on it and chose “Run As Administrator”
  3. Then navigate to the folder where the VBScript.dll file is residing (using cd commands)
  4. Run the following command: regsvr32 vbscript.dll

If your installation goes without a hitch you’ll get an error message saying that it was successfully registered.

Now run your Blackberry Desktop software. It should run without a hitch. Just make sure that UAC is turned off. I know Vista means to do good with UAC, but it seems to be messing with a lot of software out there. So I keep that permanently switched off, unless I am on a public WiFi hotspot.


  1. Bob Velez

    I attempted to run a few different versions of the Blackberry desktop software on my Vista Home Premium machine and I get the following:

    “Error:1935. An error occurred during the installation of assembly component {9BAE13A2-E7AF-D6C3-A01F-C8B3B9A1E18E}. HRESULT: 0x800736B3.”

    I’m not sure what ‘UAC’ is that you are referring to switching off, nor do I know how to navigate to a certain folder using ‘cd’ commands.

    Any suggestions? I’m at my wits end…

  2. I get this same damn error

    “Error:1935. An error occurred during the installation of assembly component {9BAE13A2-E7AF-D6C3-A01F-C8B3B9A1E18E}. HRESULT: 0×800736B3.”

    Please help.

  3. Joao

    I have been getting the same errors on my new Dell with Windows Vista, I was traying to symchronize my phone to update my pnone numbers and other applications even tried backing up all my information to my computer and no luck, I have now been on hold with BlackBerry for over 30mins and still waiting for help? please email me with any help…

  4. Romeo

    To disable “(UAC)” run msconfig, go to the Tools tab, select Disable UAC and click Launch.

    And it’s all done.

  5. dan steer

    thanks for all the tips

    i have just bought a BB and can’t get it to work on vista

    i have done the v script command

    i (think i) have disabled the UACs

    when I try to download BDM4.2.2 SP2 from the BB site, it doesn’t freeze anymore, but never gets past the final 99% step. I tried to unzip and run what I saved to the desktop anyway, but it doesn’t seem to do anything.

    Can you help? I am really disappointed in my new BB not working and would be very grateful for help

    thank you!
    DAN

  6. KRISTY

    I get the same error 1935 message everytime I try to install the software. I have followed everyone’s advice above but unfortunately I still am unable to install the software and I am sooooo frustrated. Does anyone else have any other suggestions that might help?

    • rich h

      Blackberry desktop manager 5 is not compatible with Vista either. Tried installing and running as regular user and as admin.
      While the install appears to complete, it will not backup my data and files. Hangs endlessly.
      Or the systray will show the program disabled.
      One bug that was really annoying, when the blackberry was plugged in the tasks on the main screen were greyed out. When I unplug the blackberry, they are un-grey.
      Sometimes I am asked for my device password, sometimes not.
      Sometimes my device PIN shows in the lower right hand corner, sometimes not.
      I know the software is communicating because on the blackberry handheld it says connected to PC.
      VERIZON hasn’t responded to my e-mail for help.
      I absolutely love VERIZON’s coverage, and except for the occasional spontaneous hang or reboot or red light my Blackberry 8330 Curve has been a faithful companion. But I’ve not been able to get the desktop software working properly now in XP and Vista. Today is July 15th, 2009 and Vista is not new – any bugs should have been worked out by now!

  7. Robin

    Hi,

    I can not install desktop manager on vista system.
    I keep getting the following “windows installer has stopped working”. When I check for the problem “appcrash” “msiexec.exe”. This is my first BB and I am ready to ship it back to Sprint.

    Robin

  8. I have had two versions of Blackberry curve phones and have not been able to get either of the two softwares to work. I am at my witts end. Please help, if you can!

  9. wow,blackberry its great implememting day by day its features and modules.

  10. Explore

    Just passing by, want to leave a note to say your website
    have a lot of spammy comments, you should clear out some of those
    comments.. lol

  1. 1 2010 in review « Sampath’s Mindspace

    […] Installing Blackberry desktop software on Vista March 2008 8 comments 4 […]




Leave a Reply

