MoBlogger – Mobile Blogging tool for Windows Mobile Devices

I have been toying with the idea of creating a blogging application for the Pocket PC / Smartphone devices for sometime. i had done some extensive research on it sometime back, but due to limited time available for coding 4 fun (as I call my experimental coding activities) I had been pushing this idea away. But since I got myself a Windows Mobile phone, this need kept popping up.

My initial reaction was to go back to the applications that I had come across earlier and try them out on the phone. Well the fist one I tried refused to work on my blog unless there was an active Internet connection. This was a major limitation as I did not want to be online while I was writing my post. I know that GPRS/3G usage is charged for the actual traffic, but the downside was an active Internet connection on the phone drained the battery! So that experienced was very shortlived.

Then I did come across several other applications that allowed you to work offline, but I had small issues with them. Some I had issues setting up and running. They had exceptions. Some supported only one blog. I wanted something more as I have a couple of blogs. And I wanted my client application to support all of them without me having to delete and setup when I wanted to switch blogs.

 Also, I still had the urge to develop an application myself. With my involvement in GMobileSync now I was experienced in working with the GData API as well. So I went to work on my Mobile Blogging Application: MoBlogger.

Here are a feature list:

  • Multiple profiles
  • Multiple Blogs within a profile. So if your blogger account has multiple blogs setup, all of them will work!
  • Work Offline – you can work offline and save your posts for uploading later.
  • Supports labels.

Sounds great right? Well yeah… except right now it only supports Blogger! But I am working on supporting multiple blogging platforms! The immediate platforms on the radar are WordPress.com and Windows Live Spaces.

In the mean time if you would like to have a go at it, drop me a mail, I’ll be happy to send you an installation.


  1. Hey,
    I would love to try it out… I have a WM5 pocketpc pda phone…

  2. I would love to check it out, feel free to email me. I am running WM6 on a HTC TyTN.

  3. Yes, I will send you all the CAB file ASAP. I am in the final stages of putting WordPress.com support for moBlog. It’s almost done, I just need to test it a little bit more. I will be completing the testing this weekend and you all will have the CAB file by Monday. Will that be all right with you all?

  4. That is cool, can’t wait to give this a spin!

  5. moBlog is released as a beta. Please grab your copies here: https://sampath.wordpress.com/moblog/

    Let me know what you think!

  6. Vik

    Downloaded moBlog beta on my HTC Touch. Could you please put up a guide describing how to configure it? I get “An error message cannot be displayed because an optional resource assembly containing it cannot be found” message when I try to setup a profile.

  7. Hi Vik,

    Just published a help page here: https://sampath.wordpress.com/moblog/moblog-help/

    Let me know if you still have issues.

    Cheers,
    Sampath.

  8. Vik

    Thanks for the help page. Got it working. However, the tag field was disabled & I couldn’t add a tag to the post. A confirmation after publishing would be a nice addition I think. I think moBlog is going to turn out very well. There are a few other minor issues too but I’ll discuss them with you after my exams get over. Thanks once again!

  9. I’d like to give your MoBlogger a try. Could you send me an installation file? Thanks.

  10. Hagi

    Would love to try it out…
    Blogging all the time from my sybian phone, and now switched to HTC touch diamond… Wondering if it would work on VGA res screen.

  11. Hi thank you for the great program
    had some issues so cant really use it. tried posting with gprs but says error. so i saved a draft, but the draft cannot be retrieved even tho it is saved as an xml file in the install directory.

    i had already posted a single sentence post for testing but the multi paragraph post did not get posted.

    when is try to open posts it shows the following error
    method not found: set_Format
    System.Windows.Forms.DataGridTextBoxColumn.

    i am running m WM5 on an O2 XDA Zinc,

  12. Hey great application, but there is only one thing that is keeping me from using it regularly. And that is how it says “posted by moblog…”.

    Don’t get me wrong, you deserve a good reputation for this nice program, but listen. I know am speak for many of us when I say that I am MORE THAN HAPPY to place a decent sized button on my blog advertising for you rather than having to go to each of my posts later on and editing each one.

    Would you please consider this? Or make a special release for those who will sponsor you with a button instead? Please let me know what you think. Thank you.

  13. Whoops! It seems I was using an older version downloaded from elsewhere. The new version is running smooth, and thank you for removing the auto text on the posts.

    But I still insist on adding a button recognizing your software. Let me know what I can do!

  14. I would love to give this a try! I hate that Blogger only lets you link your go@blogger.com account to one blog. I have multiple. I can’t wait to try out the label option too.

  15. sweetieandwa

    Hi, thanks for writing the tool. I really like it. I just installed it and made a test post. It all went well, except that the posting time was 7 hours behind. I checked the clock on my PDA is correct. Is there any setting that I missed?

  16. Hello!
    I am a WordPress user for my blog PoliticalDisgust.com.

    Will this program work for WP on my WM phone (htc Fuze)?

    I have been looking everywhere for a program to work on my mobile phone and write my blog posts.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Thanks!

  17. Very cool. I’m going to download and fiddle with this. It would be nice to have a simple way to keep up on my windows mobile blog. (http://keepmobile.blogspot.com/). Thanks!

  18. it’s cool app but i don’t have PDA, i will be very appreciating people who give me a gift PDA… haha




Leave a Reply

