Got me a new notebook!

Got myself a new notebook. Actually, I wasn’t in the market for a new notebook computer untill Rukshan suggested that he get one for me from US. And it was him who suggested a few models to me as well.

After browsing the net for a while, I set my sights on a Acer Aspire 5100-5840, which is an AMD Turion 64 X 2 with 2 Gigs of RAM. The price seemed pretty much reasonable for a machine with these specs.

I got my hands on it today. It is a pretty sleek machine, well not as sleek as Rukshan’s tablet PC, but I made a concious decision to not to go for a Tablet PC as I felt a normal notebook PC was better suited for my needs. I am still playing around with the PC. I want to check its performance for my hobby activities (I know its more than enough for my work activities, as all I need is email, MS Project and MS Office). So I am in the process of insalling all the tools I need to do .NET coding.

I have already got the first warning when installing Visual Stdio 2005 and SQL Server 2005 Express. Hope it won’t be a nagging issue for me to continue. I will keep the progress posted on this blog.

PS: One small snag with the notebook though. Acer ships this notebook PC range with Vista Home Premium. But they give the 32 bit edition. I think it is a bit stupid as the whole point of getting a 64 bit processor is because you need the 64 bit performance. Putting a 32 bit OS version on it defies this purpose all togerther. I have complained to Acer and waiting for thier feedback.

I assumed they were shipping it with 64 bit OS edition. But seems I have assumed it wrong!


  1. I think the reason they pre install the 32 bit ver is because of compatibility issues. 64-bit versions of all major software still can’t be found, but in your case, I suppose you have all the x64 software you need( i.e. – .NET etc.)

    But anyway, cool laptop dude!
    Post back later with the performance. How’s the graphics subsys?

  2. Just noticed this post. I was looking for Dell laptops over this week end. Looking at this, how is the performance on your ACER coming along. specially with AMD Turion 64bit machine? I was comparing between the AMD Turion and Intel Dual core.
    with respect to 64bit OS, I think you should be able to get an upgrade at the stores or on microsoft’s website. Thats what I had heard some time last year.




Leave a Reply

