Today was my D-day. Had the PMP examination. This was a four hour marathon!

I am not going to disclose anything about the exam. I did sign on a paper that said that I am not going to disclose the questions to outside parties. But what I can say is that it was a very subjective exam. Meaning they had asked about what should be done in different situations. I felt that those answers could be very subjective as what each person would do will depend on a lot of environmental factors, organizational culture and the personal preferences and characteristics.

But what I found good about the exam was that it did not hinder me because I did not know the inputs, tools & techniques and the outputs by heart. I did read all of it, but could not remember all of them. I am not good at memorizing things. But where ever it made logical reasoning possible, i remembered the process. The exam was not that heavily dependant on these. They had asked for some of those, but i managed to answer them using logical reasoning and logical elimination.

Well, all of this would hold true if I do get pass the exam. As I said, since it was a very subjective set of questions, I guess it will depend on closely my thinking and PMI’s thinking aligns. Let’s wait and see.


  1. Happy to hear that you have sat for the PMP exam and Im sure the results will be good. Though most people think input and Outputs should be memorize, that’s wrong., Its all about analyzing how they have given those inputs and outputs related to the process. Then its very easy to pic the proper one. Like you said some questions are very subjective. Normally you can get 1 wrong answer for every 10 questions.. then you are through.




Leave a Reply

