Registering for PMP exam

Finally the PMP (Project Management Exam) is going to be held in Colombo. The date has been fixed for 20th of November. To be able to sit for the exam you have to complete the registration by the 20th of October.

Filling up the registration form for the PMP exam is a project by itself. Since I posses an accredited educational qualification I have to show 4500 hours of project management work experience. This gets more complicated when you have to show a breakdown of time spent on each of the process groups; initiating, planning, executing, monitoring & control and closing.

My life was made a bit easier by the fact that the application form is available online and it can be filled and saved to continue later. Also, as you go along filling it, the application itself tells you how much more you need to cover in order to become eligible. This is the most interactive exam application form that I have filled. I have to admit, this is IT used in a practical manner.

I realized that I needed to run through my projects as I needed to first workout the time I have spent on each of the projects that I have managed earlier as well as to gather the time I have spent on each of the tasks so that I can work out the tie spent on each of the process group. Life was made simpler again by a spread sheet that was forwarded in the PMP study group email. This spreadsheet calculates the contact hours when you put in the dates. Good for me!

So now I have raked my brains and have come up with the projects that I have managed along with the time lines. A lot of my former colleagues helped me to find the dates lines of older projects. And having the old emails archived helped to a great deal too. The spreadsheet tells me that i have covered my 4500 contact hours. So now I am off to the online application form to put it all across to PMI.


  1. I just stumbled on your blog posts by PMP note. All the best for your PMP. Do blog about your experience on the test.
    I am in a similar boat on filling in the XL sheet, digging my older projects in the past 6 years and classifying my tasks into process groups, etc. I haven’t been a Project manager but have been in different functional lead roles. This makes it a bit challenging to gather right information from my earlier projects.
    Again, all the best for your PMP test.
    -Ram

  2. Rayden

    Interesting!! If you dont mind could you post a bit more details on this PMP exam that is to be held in Colombo. Or where i could gather more info on this.

    Thanx

  3. Rayden

    Damn!! I almost feel a idiot!! Realized as soon as i posted that this is a year old thread!!!😦 Anyways any info on the subject would be appreciated..
    Thanx

  4. Ajay Shinde

    Can anybody send me the spreadsheet template to to show 4500 hours of project management work experience.

    Regards

    Ajay Shinde

  5. I have written a small article about the PMP Exam Process.

    Good Luck…

  6. kirsten

    This is the exact tool I was looking for! Would you mind sharing it with me?

    “Life was made simpler again by a spread sheet that was forwarded in the PMP study group email. This spreadsheet calculates the contact hours when you put in the dates.”

    I have put off the application process for over one month due to the time required to gather all of the specific information required…

    • Hi Kirsten,

      I was searching for this but could not locate this. I will send it across if I manage to find this. But dont count on it.

      Cheers,
      Sampath

  7. kirsten

    Thank you so much for your response. I found it by searching through google. It was not easy to find. It certainly is a nice tool to have. Just applying for the exam is a project within itself.

  8. Sameed

    I am planning for the PMP Exam, Can you please share with me the same Excel file for eligibility.

    Regards,

    Deemas




Leave a Reply

